Why I Love Steph Curry

Well, as I said in my introduction, Stephen Curry is my favorite player but I didn’t touch on why he’s my favorite. Curry is my favorite player in the NBA because he is a winner and he incorporates playground tricks and moves into his game while remaining relatively efficient. He’s just an exciting player to watch.

He reminds me a little bit of White Chocolate, Jason Williams, but not near as fancy and a better shooter. But as I was saying, I admire his ability to incorporate playground moves while maintaining relative efficiency. You get the best of both worlds when watching him because those things make him the most entertaining player – more entertaining than Lebron James, Kevin Durant (both of who I find boring actually), James Harden and every other player you can come up with. The only players who come close to Curry in terms of entertainment value are Russell Westbrook and Kyrie Irving.

My main love for Curry, however, is his ability to shoot the ball. I’m a shooter myself so I look up to him in that aspect. His quick release and his willingness to take deep shots if he’s open enough also make him my absolute favorite but another quality I admire greatly in him is his humility. Even though he’s universally recognized as a top 5 player in the NBA and the best on his team, Curry maintains a high level of humility that is sometimes rare in people at the top of their craft. Even though he runs off before shots go in and other small on court celebration acts that some people perceive as cocky,  I see it as a guy who worked hard to become the best (at shooting) who knows what will get the crowd and his teammates pumped. When teammates and the crowds are pumped, momentum goes through the roof and momentum is really a shooter’s secret sauce.

This was a summary of why Curry is my favorite player. Who is your favorite? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

